Jonesboro Buildings Nominated to the National Register

Apr 6, 2017

The 1926 Ritter House is located at 1000 East Nettleton Avenue in Jonesboro.
Credit arkansasheritage.org

       LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program nominated 15 Arkansas properties in 10 counties – including Home Ice Company at Jonesboro in Craighead County – to the National Register of Historic Places when it met April 5.

The board also listed the Ritter House in Jonesboro on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places.

The 1907 Home Ice Company is located at 700 East Cate Avenue.

“The main two-story exterior brick structure, built with twelve-inch-thick walls covering a wooden frame interior was constructed in 1907 as the site for the Jonesboro Wagon Factory,” according to the National Register nomination. “It was used for manufacturing artificial ice from 1926 through 2013. When the building was converted from a peanut hulling factory to the icehouse, a one-story Spanish Colonial Revival addition, housing offices, was added to the south façade.”

The 1926 Ritter House is located at 1000 East Nettleton Avenue. Later alterations preclude its listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

   “The Ritter House was designed and built in the Spanish Colonial Revival Style, also known as the Spanish Eclectic Style in 1926,” the nomination says. “The house is located to the southeast of the original commercial core of the city of Jonesboro and was originally built outside of the city limits, although the city has expanded around the property.  The home was designed by local architect Elmer A. Stuck for Louis Rudolph Ritter and his wife Flossie Belle Ritter and it was built by the McDaniel Construction Company of Jonesboro.”

Other properties nominated to the National Register are Lake Nixon, Gay Oil Company Building and Martin Cemetery, Historic Section at Little Rock in Pulaski County; Leslie Commercial Historic District at Leslie in Searcy County; Batesville Commercial Historic District Expansion at Batesville in Independence County; Hot Springs National Guard Armory at Hot Springs in Garland County; Scott Cemetery near Walnut Ridge in Lawrence County; McLean Hall at Clarksville in Johnson County; Rumph Mortuary, Barton Library and Henley-Riley Historic District at El Dorado in Union County; Bethel Cemetery near Crossett in Ashley County and Vernon Fitzhugh House and Warren Seagraves House at Fayetteville in Washington County.

The board also listed Superior Savings and Loan Building at Fort Smith in Sebastian County on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to info@arkansaspreservation.org or visit www.arkansaspreservation.org.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.