ASU http://kasu.org en KASU to air Arkansas First Congressional District Debate http://kasu.org/post/kasu-air-arkansas-first-congressional-district-debate <p>Arkansas State’s Department of Political Science is joining with the ASU Radio-Television Department, The Herald and the Jonesboro Sun to host a debate between the candidates vying for office in the Arkansas First Congressional District, Thursday, Oct. 25, from 6:30-8 p.m.</p> Tue, 23 Oct 2012 10:53:24 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 19642 at http://kasu.org Mexican Delegation to visit Arkansas State University http://kasu.org/post/mexican-delegation-visit-arkansas-state-university <p>A Mexican delegation from Queretaro, Mexico will be in Jonesboro Friday and Saturday.&nbsp; Arkansas State University officials will meet with the delegation about the possibility of placing a campus of Arkansas State University in Queretaro.&nbsp; KASU's Johnathan Reaves spoke with Arkansas State University's Chancellor of the Jonesboro Campus, Dr. Tim Hudson during Morning Edition.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 27 Sep 2012 12:57:30 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 18524 at http://kasu.org Spotlight on the Arts-ASU Wind Ensemble http://kasu.org/post/spotlight-arts-asu-wind-ensemble <p>The Arkansas State University Wind Ensemble opens its 2012-2013 concert season with a&nbsp; free concert on Thursday, September 27th.&nbsp; In this Spotlight on the Arts features, KASU's Marty Scarbrough talks with Dr. Timothy Oliver, director of bands and coordinator of wind and percussion studies within the Department of Music.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 24 Sep 2012 12:57:04 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 18344 at http://kasu.org Spotlight On The Arts-ASU Youth Orchestra http://kasu.org/post/spotlight-arts-asu-youth-orchestra <p>Arkansas State University's Music Department will start classes this Saturday in the formation of a Youth Orchestra.&nbsp; The orchestra is for those in grades six to 12 who have had at least one year of instruction.&nbsp;&nbsp; KASU's Marty Scarbrough talks to new faculty member Guy Harrison, who is a professor of violin and viola at ASU, and&nbsp;talks about&nbsp;the youth orchestra during this Spotlight on the Arts feature.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 17 Sep 2012 12:57:24 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 18008 at http://kasu.org Spotlight on the Arts-Dr. Wendy Hymes http://kasu.org/post/spotlight-arts-dr-wendy-hymes <P>Arkansas State University's Fowler Center has a new director.&nbsp; In this edition of Spotlight on the Arts, KASU's Marty Scarbrough conducts this interview with Dr. Wendy Hymes.</P> Thu, 06 Sep 2012 11:17:55 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 17488 at http://kasu.org Unbelievable Happiness and Final Sorrow Book Signing http://kasu.org/post/unbelievable-happiness-and-final-sorrow-book-signing <p>A book detailing the life of Pauline Pfeiffer, the second wife of Ernest Hemingway, has been released.&nbsp; Dr. Ruth Hawkins is the author of "Unbelievable Happiness and Final Sorrow".&nbsp; The book details the role Pfeiffer had in Hemingway's career.&nbsp; KASU's Johnathan Reaves talks with Hawkins about the book in this report.&nbsp;</p><p>Dr. Hawkins will be at Arkansas State University's Cooper Alumni Center on Tuesday, August 28th from 3:30 to 5:30 for a book reading and book signing.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 24 Aug 2012 13:02:14 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 16866 at http://kasu.org Student safety at Arkansas State University http://kasu.org/post/student-safety-arkansas-state-university <p>After a recent shooting near the Texas A&amp;M campus, some may be anxious about the safety of students as school is about to start at Arkansas State University.&nbsp; KASU&#39;s Johnathan Reaves interviewed Dr. Rick Stripling, Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs, during Morning Edition and talked about student safety.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 14 Aug 2012 12:49:12 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 16342 at http://kasu.org Ground breaking at ASU Newport's Jonesboro Campus http://kasu.org/post/ground-breaking-asu-newports-jonesboro-campus <p>The Fowler Family presented ASU Newport&#39;s Jonesboro Campus a one million dollar gift for the new Hospitality Services Education Building.&nbsp; The 2.3 million dollar building should be complete in eight months with classes expected to start next August.&nbsp; KASU&#39;s Johnathan Reaves tells more.</p> Thu, 02 Aug 2012 12:45:19 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 15661 at http://kasu.org ASU Regional Farmers Market http://kasu.org/post/asu-regional-farmers-market <p>The&nbsp;Arkansas State Regional&nbsp;Farmers Market is getting geared up for this year&#39;s season.&nbsp; KASU&#39;s Johnathan Reaves talks&nbsp;with Chairman Bob Young and files this report.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 04 Apr 2012 12:56:45 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 9839 at http://kasu.org Farm Bill and Crop Insurance topics of Agri Business Conference http://kasu.org/post/farm-bill-and-crop-insurance-topics-agri-business-conference <p>Challenges surrounding&nbsp;a new farm bill and crop&nbsp;insurance were&nbsp;two topics that&nbsp;were discussed during&nbsp;Arkansas State University&#39;s Agri Business Conference.&nbsp; KASU&#39;s Johnathan&nbsp;Reaves files this report.</p> Thu, 09 Feb 2012 13:40:03 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 6981 at http://kasu.org 2012 ASU Agribusiness Conference February 8 http://kasu.org/post/2012-asu-agribusiness-conference-february-8 <p>The 18th&nbsp;Annual&nbsp;ASU&nbsp;Agribusiness Conference&nbsp;will be&nbsp;held&nbsp;in Jonesboro.&nbsp; KASU&#39;s Johnathan Reaves interviews&nbsp;Dr. Bert&nbsp;Greenwalt,&nbsp;Professor of Agricultural Economics at&nbsp;ASU&#39;s College of Agriculture and Technology.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 01 Feb 2012 13:56:30 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 6613 at http://kasu.org New Traffic Patterns at Arkansas State University http://kasu.org/post/new-traffic-patterns-arkansas-state-university <p>As students and faculty go back to&nbsp;class January 17th,&nbsp;a familiar way to get on&nbsp;campus will no longer be&nbsp;available.&nbsp; KASU&#39;s Johnathan Reaves files this&nbsp;report.</p> Mon, 16 Jan 2012 12:46:13 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 5807 at http://kasu.org Crawford brings Exports Roundtable to ASU http://kasu.org/post/crawford-brings-exports-roundtable-asu <p>US Representative Rick Crawford&nbsp;sponsored a round&nbsp;table discussion on the importance of exports to Arkansas business.&nbsp; KASU&#39;s Johnathan Reaves files this report.</p> Fri, 13 Jan 2012 12:51:28 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 5685 at http://kasu.org "Export University" coming to Jonesboro http://kasu.org/post/export-university-coming-jonesboro <p>Arkansas State University&rsquo;s Small Business and Technology Development Center will join with the Arkansas District Export Council and the Arkansas Export Assistance Center to launch &ldquo;Export University&rdquo; this month. &ldquo;Export University&rdquo;is directed toward Arkansas companies wanting to engage in international trade or expand into new international markets.</p> Fri, 13 Jan 2012 12:22:22 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 5680 at http://kasu.org Malzahn is ASU's new head football coach http://kasu.org/post/malzahn-asus-new-head-football-coach <p>In a news conference yesterday, Gus Malzahn&nbsp;was introduced&nbsp;as the new&nbsp;head football&nbsp;coach at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro.&nbsp;&nbsp;KASU&#39;s Johnathan Reaves&nbsp;files this&nbsp;report.</p> Thu, 15 Dec 2011 12:14:13 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 4193 at http://kasu.org Spotlight On The Arts http://kasu.org/post/spotlight-arts <p>A music legend is coming&nbsp;to the Riceland Hall at ASU Fowler&nbsp;Center.&nbsp; Gary Morris will be live&nbsp;in concert on&nbsp;Sunday, December 11th at seven pm.&nbsp; In this Spotlight&nbsp;On The Arts,&nbsp;KASU&#39;s Marty Scarbrough&nbsp;talks with Morris about the upcoming concert.</p> Thu, 08 Dec 2011 13:44:31 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 3786 at http://kasu.org Marion Berry Parkway dedication and $6 Million Gift to ASU http://kasu.org/post/marion-berry-parkway-dedication-and-6-million-gift-asu <p>Governor Mike Beebe&nbsp;brought a huge check to Arkansas State University for work to continue on the new Humanities and Social Sciences Building.&nbsp; Also, yesterday, the Marion Berry Parkway was dedicated.&nbsp; KASU&#39;s Johnathan Reaves&nbsp;tells about both&nbsp;events.</p> Wed, 30 Nov 2011 13:15:33 +0000 Johnathan Reaves 3376 at http://kasu.org "Opera Idol" to be presented at ASU-Jonesboro http://kasu.org/post/opera-idol-be-presented-asu-jonesboro <p>The ASU Opera Theatre will present &quot;Opera Idol,&quot; a program spoofing the popular TV show &quot;American Idol.&quot;&nbsp; Student &quot;contestants&quot; will demonstrate their opera skills before a panel of &quot;celebrity&quot; judges.&nbsp; The program will be presented Thursday, October 21, and Friday, October 22, at 7:30 each evening at Riceland Hall of the Fowler Center at ASU-Jonesboro.&nbsp; KASU&#39;s Marty Scarbrough spoke with Marika Kyriakos, director of ASU Opera Theatre, who explained the concept behind this production.</p> Thu, 13 Oct 2011 13:47:23 +0000 mscarbro 1075 at http://kasu.org